Creative Writing Story 3

Knock. Knock. Knock. 

That echoes through my house as I get up out of bed.  I rub my eyes and stumble over to the light switch. I pause before moving anywhere else, thinking I may have imagined it. 

Knock. Knock. Knock.

Thinking I heard a noise, I jump awake and hurry to turn on the light. As I stand here, wondering if what I heard was real, I think that this seems familiar. Had I not just woken up?

Knock. Knock. Knock.

My eyes slowly peel open as I realize I am once again waking up to an unknown noise. This time I skip the light switch and start down the hallway. I search for where I think the sound came from. 

Knock. Knock. Knock. 

This time, I am determined and I rush into the sitting room right after opening my eyes. I must find out where this sound is coming from! This time, I think I may be able to tell where it comes from if I stand still, hoping maybe I hear the knocking before I wake up.

Knock. Knock. Knock. 

“Left,” I mutter to myself as I wake up, thinking I heard it to the left of where I last was. I get out of bed and rush to where I was in the sitting room. I slowly look to my left.

Knock. Knock. Knock.

I spring to life as I open my eyes and run back to where I stood before. I look left and face the closet door. Normally the closet is empty, but this time I am not so sure.

Knock. Knock. Knock. 

Rising up and sprinting down the hall and into the sitting room where I stood before, I turn to my left and start to walk forward. I get closer and closer to the door, my heart starts pounding. I reach out to grab the handle but before I can, the handle starts to turn. 

Knock. Knock. Knock. 

Before I even open my eyes, I run down the hall and to the living room – I make a b-line to the door and reach out my hand. As I get close to the handle, it turns on its own. The door opens.

Knock. Knock. Knock. 

I open my eyes, but I am not back in my bed. I am still standing in front of the door. I view inside and see only darkness, darker than the darkest sky. 

Knock. Knock. Knock. 

The knocking seems to be coming from deep inside the closet. I hold my breath and step inside. I must find out where this knocking is coming from. 

Knock. Knock. Knock. 

Darkness consumes me. There are no sounds. There are no feelings.

There is no knocking this time. Time is no more. There is no sky, or ground, or walls – only blackness. 

I am getting hungry. I want to see something. I lay down on the black ground – it is cold and hard.

Knock. Knock. Knock.

As I hear the echoing knocks, I start fading off. My eyes are drifting closed, or I think they are. As I go, I hear a distant call of my name “Jeremy…”

Knock. Knock. Knock.

I open my eyes, slowly and I see that I am back in my room. But, I am so hungry and I cannot get up. I am too weak.

Knock. Knock. Knock.

My eyes do not open up this time. My breathing is hard and my heart is slowing. As I die, I think, “Was this real life, or was it a fantasy?” 

Knock. Knock. Knock.

Words: 599

Time: 2 days

Revisions: 1

-A

Published by Asher Roland

I am an influencer on YouTube and other social media. I run the blog on my website, along with running a Youtube Channel with a small subscriber base. If I ever get a need to say something, I will be posting a podcast on Anchor.fm, but for now that is a quiet platform.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started